3 minutes reading time (537 words)

Alabama Football Honors For A-Day Game, Spring Practice

There is not an extraordinary amount of drama regarding a spring football game. If there are no serious injuries, all is considered to be good. Such was the case in Alabama’s A-Day Game Saturday, won by the White team (second offense and first defense), 31-17 over the Crimson (first offense, second defense).

For the players it marked the 15th and final practice of the spring. There will be a few weeks to heal up some things, and then begins the next phase of football preparation, the summer workouts.

For a handful of players there is the satisfaction of being recognized for achievement. Two players are selected by sports reporters for their performances in the A-Day Game, which was played at Bryant-Denny Stadium Saturday. One was a true freshman and one a fifth-year senior. They were:

Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player of the A-Day Game Award -- John Metchie, 6-0, 195, freshman wide receiver from Brampton, Canada. Metchie had five receptions for 133 yards for the winning White team.

Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award – Anfernee Jennings, 6-3, 259, senior outside linebacker from Dadeville. He was in on 4 tackles, 2 primary, and had a sack for the winning White team.

Anfernee JenningsAnfernee Jennings named top lineman in A-Day (Photo: Stuart McNair, 247Sports)

Following the game, Alabama Head Coach Nick Saban presented awards based on the entire spring and selected by the coaching staff. They were:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Dylan Moses, Matt Womack

Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – Tommy Brown, Jaylen Waddle, Josh Jobe, DJ Dale, Henry Ruggs

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Raekwon Davis, LaBryan Ray

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Jedrick Wills, Alex Leatherwood

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Trevon Diggs, Patrick Surtain

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Brian Robinson, Najee Harris

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Jerry Jeudy, Devonta Smith

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Anfernee Jennings

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Mac Hereford, Eddie Smith

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Giles Amos, Daniel Powell, William Cooper, Jackson Roby, Joshua Lanier

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Evan Neal, Cameron Latu, Eyabi Anoma, Slade Bolden, Shane Lee

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Christian Barmore, Emil Ekiyor, Jared Mayden, Josh McMillon

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Miller Forristall, Thomas Fletcher, Chris Owens

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Tua Tagovailoa, Xavier McKinney, Shyheim Carter

Other notes from Saturday:

The four permanent team captains from the 2018 season – running back Damien Harris, tight end Hale Hentges, linebacker Christian Miller and offensive lineman Ross Pierschbacher – were recognized at the annual Walk of Fame ceremony that took place Saturday at Denny Chimes. Per Alabama tradition, all four captains had their hand prints and foot prints placed in cement at the base of Denny Chimes.

Captains for the Crimson team were tight end Miller Forristall, quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, and offensive lineman Matt Womack; for the White, defensive lineman Raekwon Davis, defensive back Xavier McKinney, and linebacker Dylan Moses.

The SEC’s best officiating crew – the one that Alabama never gets in a game because it’s headed by former Tide quarterback David Smith – worked the A-Day Game.

Freshman WR John Metchie named MVP of Alabama's A-...
Breaking: Nick Saban to Have Hip Examined

Related Posts

Responses (0)
No response for this article yet.
Submit Your Response
Upload files or images for this discussion by clicking on the upload button below. Supports gif,jpg,png,jpeg,zip,rar,pdf
• Insert • Remove Upload Files (Maximum File Size: 2 MB)
Share Location

Sharing your current location while posting a new question allow viewers to identify the location you are located.